Espace Membres Événements English | Français Panier
Skip to main content
Inside Banner

Politique de confidentialité

Bénévoles Ottawa (« BO ») s’engage à protéger votre vie privée. La politique de confidentialité ci-dessous décrit notre façon de collecter, de stocker, d’utiliser et de distribuer les informations que vous nous communiquez. 

ÉNONCÉ :

Bénévoles Ottawa (BO) s’engage à protéger la confidentialité des renseignements personnels des donateurs, employés, bénévoles et autres intervenants. Nous accordons une grande valeur à la confiance de tous nos intervenants et reconnaissons que pour maintenir cette confiance, il est nécessaire que nous soyons transparents et responsables dans notre façon de traiter les informations qui sont partagées avec nous. Notre politique est de contrôler la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication des renseignements personnels conformément à toutes les conditions énoncées dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRDE). Tout au long de notre travail, nous recueillons et utilisons des renseignements personnels. Les personnes qui nous transmettent ces renseignements sont en droit de s'attendre à ce qu'ils soient traités de façon confidentielle. Nos pratiques sont conçues afin d’en fournir les garanties. Le directeur ou la directrice est aussi responsable de la protection de la vie privée. Dans le processus d’association de bénévoles avec des occasions de bénévolat, nous communiquons aux organismes des renseignements relatifs aux bénévoles intéressés par certains postes. L’anonymat est possible sur demande. Nous publions également, avec leur accord, des détails spécifiques et histoires à propos de nos membres et bénévoles.

Qu’est-ce qui est considéré comme des renseignements personnels ?

Les renseignements personnels sont toutes les informations qui peuvent être utilisées pour distinguer, identifier ou contacter un individu, comme son nom, son adresse, sa date de naissance, son adresse courriel ou son numéro de téléphone. Les informations disponibles publiquement, comme un répertoire public avec votre nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone, ne sont pas considérées comme des renseignements personnels.

Nos pratiques de confidentialité

Les renseignements personnels recueillis par BO demeurent confidentiels. Le personnel de BO n’est autorisé à consulter des renseignements personnels que dans la mesure où il a besoin de les utiliser aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis. Les renseignements personnels ne sont recueillis et utilisés qu’à des fins conformes aux activités de BO. BO ne vend, n'échange ou ne commercialise aucun renseignement personnel avec des tiers, à moins d’en avoir reçu l’autorisation spécifique de les communiquer, ou que cette communication soit demandée ou autorisée par la loi. Nous avons aussi adopté des mesures afin de s'assurer que l'intégrité des renseignements est préservée et pour empêcher leur perte ou leur destruction. Nous recueillons et utilisons uniquement des renseignements personnels qu'à des fins qu'une personne raisonnable estimerait acceptables dans les circonstances. Nous acceptons les principes de confidentialité tels qu’ils sont définis par la LPRDE.

Responsabilité

Bénévoles Ottawa a nommé le directeur comme responsable de la protection de la vie privée. Les intervenants de BO recevront de l’information sur la façon de contacter le responsable de la protection de la vie privée, pour toute question ou réclamation en matière de vie privée. Si un intervenant n’est pas responsable de la réponse de notre responsable, nous l’informerons qu’il ou elle peut avoir recours à d’autres moyens en vertu des lois applicables sur la protection de la vie privée.

Détermination des fins

Les fins auxquelles les renseignements personnels sont recueillis par BO sont clairement identifiées, et l’information recueillie se limite à ce qui est raisonnablement nécessaire.

Consentement

L’intéressé doit avoir connaissance et consentir à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la communication de renseignements personnels, à moins qu'il ne soit approprié de le faire. La permission peut être faite de manière orale, électronique, écrite ou implicite. Sous réserve des exigences juridiques et contractuelles, les intervenants peuvent refuser de donner leur consentement à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la communication de tout renseignement personnel. À tout moment les intervenants peuvent également retirer leur consentement à toute autre collecte, utilisation ou communication de leurs renseignements personnels, en nous avisant dans un délai raisonnable.

Restrictions quant à la collecte, l'utilisation, la communication et la rétention

Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés par BO uniquement pour les fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis. BO protège les renseignements personnels de ses intervenants en prenant des mesures de sécurité raisonnables contre les risques tels que l'accès, la collecte, l'utilisation ou la communication non autorisés. Les mesures de sécurité ont été intégrées dans les pratiques quotidiennes de BO. Les renseignements personnels ne sont pas loués, vendus ni partagés avec des tiers. Dans le cours normal des affaires, ces renseignements peuvent être communiqués aux tiers qui nous fournissent des services pour une tâche spécifique. Nous demandons à ces prestataires d’assurer la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements personnels.

Précision

BO prend les mesures raisonnables pour garantir que les renseignements personnels soient précis, complets et à jour pour les fins auxquelles ils sont utilisés.

Protection

BO a l’obligation de protéger les renseignements personnels des donateurs en prenant des mesures de sécurité raisonnables contre les risques tels que l'accès, la collecte, l'utilisation ou la communication non autorisés. Les mesures de sécurité, telles que des classeurs verrouillés, l’accès restreints et l’utilisation de mots de passe et du cryptage, ont été intégrées dans les pratiques quotidiennes de BO, afin de protéger les renseignements personnels de nos donateurs contre la perte ou le vol, ainsi que contre la consultation, la communication, la copie, l'utilisation ou la modification non autorisées.

Transparence

Bénévoles Ottawa met à la disposition des intéressés et du public ses politiques et pratiques relatives à la gestion des renseignements personnels. La politique de confidentialité de BO concernant le site internet de Bénévoles Ottawa se trouve sur ce même site (voir l’annexe H).

Accès individuel

Sur demande, toute personne a le droit d’être informée de l’existence, l’utilisation et la divulgation de ses renseignements personnels, et doit y avoir accès. BO encourage toute personne à participer pour garantir l’exactitude et l’intégralité de l’information, et s’efforce de la mettre à jour lorsque nécessaire. Nous fournissons également aux intervenants, à leur demande, un compte rendu de l’utilisation qui a été faite ou est faite de leurs renseignements personnels, et les tiers auxquels ils ont été communiqués.

Possibilités de recours

Le responsable de la vie privée de BO est disponible pour enquêter sur les réclamations et prend les mesures appropriées pour corriger les pratiques et politiques de traitement de l’information si nécessaire. BO dispose de procédures pour recevoir et répondre aux réclamations ou demandes concernant son traitement des renseignements personnels.

VOices Blog Members Home Events English | Français Shopping Cart
Skip to main content
Inside Banner

Privacy Policy

Volunteer Ottawa (“VO”) is committed to protecting your privacy. The following policy describes how we collect, store, use and distribute information that is submitted to us.

STATEMENT:

Volunteer Ottawa (VO) is committed to protecting the privacy of the personal information of its donors, employees, volunteers and other stakeholders. We value the trust of all our stakeholders and recognize that maintaining this trust requires that we be transparent and accountable in how we treat the information that is shared with us. It is our policy to control the collection, use, and disclosure of personal information in accordance with all requirements set out in the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA). During the course of our work, we gather and use personal information. Anyone from whom we collect such information has a right to expect that it will be carefully protected. Our privacy practices are designed to provide this assurance. The Office Manager is the Chief Privacy Officer and is accountable for the protection of individuals‟ privacy. In the process of matching volunteers with volunteer opportunities, we provide agencies with information about volunteers that are interested in a particular position. Anonymity is available as requested. We also, with full consent, publish specific details and stories about our members and volunteers.

What is Considered Personal Information?

Personal information is any information that can be used to distinguish, identify or contact a specific individual, such as an individual’s name, address, birth date, email address and phone number. Publicly available information, such as a public directory listing of your name, address and telephone number is not considered personal information.

Our Privacy

Practices Personal information gathered by VO is kept in confidence. VO staff is authorized to access personal information based only on their need to deal with the information for the reason(s) for which it was obtained. Personal information will only be collected and used for authorized activities of VO. VO will not sell, lease, share or trade personal information with any third party unless VO has received specific authorization for the release, or release is required or permitted by law. We take measures to ensure the integrity of this information is maintained and to prevent its being lost or destroyed. We collect and use personal information only for purposes that a reasonable person would consider appropriate in light of the circumstances. We will abide by the following privacy principles as defined by PIPEDA.

Accountability

Volunteer Ottawa has appointed the Office Manager as Chief Privacy Officer (CPO). VO stakeholders will be provided with information as to how to contact the CPO with questions or complaints about privacy matters. If a stakeholder is not satisfied with the response from our CPO, we will inform the stakeholder that he or she may have recourse to additional remedies under applicable privacy legislation.

Identifying Purposes

The purposes for which personal information is collected by VO will be clearly identified, and the information collected will be confined to that which is reasonably necessary.

Consent

The knowledge and consent of the individual are required for the collecting, using or disclosing of personal information, except where inappropriate. Permission may be expressed orally, electronically, in writing, or implied. Subject to legal and contractual requirements, our stakeholders can refuse to provide consent to our collection, use or disclosure of their personal information. Our stakeholders can also withdraw their consent to any further collection, use or disclosure of their personal information at any time by giving us reasonable notice.

Limiting Collection, Use, Disclosure and Retention

Personal information will be used by VO only for the identified purposes for which it was collected. VO protects its stakeholders‟ personal information by making reasonable security arrangements against such risks as unauthorized access, collection, use, disclosure or disposal. Security measures have been integrated into the day-to-day operating practices of VO. Personal information will not be rented, sold or shared with any third party. As a regular course of business it may be provided to those parties that provide us with contracted services for a specific task. We require these contractors keep personal information secure and confidential. Accuracy VO will take reasonable measures to ensure personal information shall be as accurate, complete, and up to-date as is necessary for the purposes for which it is to be used.

Safeguards

VO is obligated to protect donors‟ personal information by making reasonable security arrangements against such risks as unauthorized access, collection, use, disclosure or disposal. Security measures, such as locked filing cabinets, restricted access and the use of passwords and encryption, have been integrated into the day-to-day operating practices of VO, to protect our stakeholders‟ personal information against loss or theft, as well as unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification.

Openness

Volunteer Ottawa will make available to individuals and the public its policies and practices relating to the management of personal information. VO‟s Privacy Policy relating to the Volunteer Ottawa website will be posted on the internet. (see Appendix H).

Individual Access

Upon request, an individual shall be informed of the existence, use and disclosure of his or her personal information and shall be given access to that information. VO encourages all individuals to assist in ensuring the accuracy and completeness of the information and will endeavour to update where appropriate. We will also provide our stakeholders upon request with an account of the use that has been made or is being made of their respective personal information, and the third parties to which it has been disclosed.

Provide Recourse

VO’s Chief Privacy Officer will be available to investigate all complaints, and appropriate measures will be taken by the CPO to correct information handling practices and policies if required. VO has procedures in place to receive and respond to complaints or inquiries about its handling of personal information.